top of page
Writer's pictureMoony

Bond with your axolotl



You have to know that every axolotls have their own personality. Some can be social like Gary and others shy.


How did I do?

Well when we first got Gary he was really tiny 6cm (2.3inches) I didn't really think about putting my hand in the tank to be honest. I let him settle for two weeks before doing anything. I was constantly worried about him (that didn't change even now). All I wanted was for him to feel like home. 

One day I was just looking at him and melting on how cute he was, I then just put my hand in the water (always wash your hands before), I was a bit scared he wouldn't like it but instead he went directly onto my hand and it was the best moment ever. I swear it was the best thing ever!


You have to make your axolotl use to you because you're gonna have your hands around the tank quite a lot. Between the feeding, water change, water test, spot cleaning, your axolotl have to see your hand as friendly (I want to believe they care).


Everyday I spend a lot of time with him, mostly for feeding time or when I'm seeing he is a bit stressed. I just put my hand in next to him and wait basically. It's as simple as that.

Oh be prepared to get nipped sometimes, but I assure you it doesn't hurt a bit. It's just surprising, but no sudden movement or you'll scare your axolotl FOREVER (joking). xD

 

There's gonna be some days where he won't come of course he have his own mood. I remember when days like this happened, I was really sad (╯︵╰,) and I thought he didn't like me but you have to remember that like all of us, they will have their days. 


In the end I'm glad I put my hand in the tank this very first time because I wouldn't have the amazing relation I have with Gary now (✿˶◕‿◕˶人◕ᴗ◕✿)


Spend quality time with your axolotl, it really worth it.


✧༺♥༻ Gary's Mummy ༺♥༻✧

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page