top of page
  • Writer's pictureMoony

My axolotl is not happy what should I do?

Updated: Aug 30, 2019

So you spotted your axolotl having his tail and/or gills curled and you're wondering what to do to make him/her happy again.

First check your water parameters.

Ammonia, Nitrite, PH, Nitrate. Use your API fresh water master test kit to have accurate result. If you have stripes I actually advise you to take the API kit as the stripes test are not accurate at all.

As for PH and Nitrate if their lvl are not within the right range, you just have to correct them.


If you have readings on either ammonia and/or nitrite, it means your cycle have crashed and you'll have to redo your cycle all over again.


If your parameters are perfect but your axolotl is still not happy, look for water flow, maybe there is too much water movement for them.

See if your light is not too bright (they really don't need light) consider deeming the light and provide lots of shadow area as well as hides.


If you have any other concern don't hesitate to message me on instagram, I'll always do my best to help.




31 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page