top of page
Writer's pictureMoony

What not do to with your axolotl



I have seen and read absolutely horrible things done to axolotls on some youtube videos or forums and I am so scared that those videos will give wrong informations out there and it's completely killing me so I'm gonna tell you what not to do based on some videos I've seen. 

Also I tend to have a politic of zero risk for my axolotl, what can be tolerated by other owners can not be by me but it's just a personal choice. I love Gary too much to risk anything.

  • Do not take your axolotl out of water to make him/her walk on the ground or carpet or whatever. They are not meant to do that, they are fully aquatic creatures. If you need to tub them, handling them out is not the best option as they are really slimy and can easily fall off your hand, you can imagine falling would hurt him/her. 

Here is a video on how to tub your axolotl in a really gentle way. 



  • Do not force feed your axolotl a frozen cube of blood worm (true story I am not even joking) or anything else unless it's a rescue in a really really bad shape and he's gonna die if he doesn't eat, in that case you could help your axolotl eat mixed worms with a syringe (without the needle of course).

  • Do not put your axolotl on gravel. It's a classic but I still see it more than I should. You want to go bare bottom or Fine sand. If you want to put rock or pebbles in your tank, they should be twice the size of your axolotls head.



  • Do not put a light in your tank without some hides and shadow areas for your axolotls.

  • Do not grab and pet your axolotl like if he/she was a hamster. This will damage their slime coat and stress them so much.

  • Do not put your axolotl with fishes or snails. Unless it's feeder fish (and even so there's still a probability) because they will nip at your axolotl's gills plus they will get eaten by your axolotl and some fish are harmful for your axolotl to digest. Snails if eaten by your axolotl, can cause impaction with the shell.

If there is anything you'd like to add to this list just message me and i'll update it.


*+:。.。Moony。.。:+*

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page