top of page
  • Writer's pictureGary

What am I?

Updated: Aug 19, 2019

What exactly is an axolotl?


Hi 🌸 my name is Gary and I'm an axolotl, ambystoma mexicanum, an amphibian and I will live all my life under water. 

I can only be found in the wild in lake Xochimilcimo in Mexico city.

What's fascinating about me is that I won't evolve like all my cousin the tiger salamander, I'll forever stay a neotenic, which means a young salamander.

I am like Peter pan if you prefer. 😜

My natural habitat has been compromised with chemicals, pesticide and invaded by Tilapia which lead to my species being critically endangered 😢.

As you can see, I have a pink skin and black eyes, which means I'm a leucistic and I can't be found in the wild as I'm a little mutant 😃.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page