top of page
Writer's pictureMoony

Is it easy to care for an axolotl?


I got asked this question a lot.

So this is our experience on taking care of Gary at the beginning.


When we actually saw Gary at the pet shop, we had no idea how to take care of an exotic aquatic pet and we listened to the pet shop (we were naive to think that they know what they are talking about). We didn't took him right away because I wanted to do some research before having him. It's when I discovered that there's a lot of false and contradictory informations about how to take care of them out there and also that axolotl care is different in every country. So yeah you get me the start was really difficult.

After all my research I had an idea of how to care for him. At least that's what I thought.


So we got Gary and his tank was ready with some water at the right temperature with water conditioner and that's when I heard about cycling...

Again the pet shop never mentioned this and for someone new to aquatic pet, it's scary. You feel like you're the worse person ever because clearly his tank wasn't safe and ready.

We had to go through the whole process of cycling Gary's tank with him being tubbed for months! With water change everyday for him and constant monitoring for the cycle.

I can not tell you how much this was stressing for me but in the end we manage to get everything sorted + if Gary wasn't being tubbed for so long I don't think I would have ever put my hand in the tub and have the amazing relationship I have with Gary now.


So in the end if you are familiar with aquatic pet I think it would be relatively easy. But if you're like me new to everything, it's gonna be a bit more hard and stressful. Maybe a less now that you follow my blog. I'm saving you some white hair haha. They do require care and attention so keep that in mind.


Moony━━☆⌒*.




31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page